Dropbox: Oops, yeah, we didn't actually delete all your files (theregister.co.uk) 29 points by CPAhem 9y ago ↗ HN
[–] netman21 9y ago ↗ This is a problem with all cloud storage as far as I know. Just like "deleting" a file on your PC all you have done is remove the pointers to it. Still forensically available unless you actually overwrite the media.
[–] londons_explore 9y ago ↗ Please someone report them to the European privacy watchdog for this.The rest of the cloud storage providers go to great lengths to make sure this kind of mistake isn't possible.Dropbox should be punished for abusing the fact their internal deletion methods aren't auditable to allow data to go undeleted. [–] wibbleywobbley 9y ago ↗ "Unlimited file recovery and version history" is a feature in the Business and Enterprise plans.
[–] wibbleywobbley 9y ago ↗ "Unlimited file recovery and version history" is a feature in the Business and Enterprise plans.
3 comments
[ 2.8 ms ] story [ 17.5 ms ] threadThe rest of the cloud storage providers go to great lengths to make sure this kind of mistake isn't possible.
Dropbox should be punished for abusing the fact their internal deletion methods aren't auditable to allow data to go undeleted.