Poll: Do You Use the HN Showdead Feature
I find HN's showdead feature provides a broader overview of our site. It let's you see links (mostly spam, sometimes hot topic dupes like 37 Signals' $100B valuation) as well as input from users who have been hellbanned.
As an opt-in feature I'm curious how many of us have opted-in, aren't aware of it, or went back to the base model of having that part of the system look after itself.
13 comments
[ 3.0 ms ] story [ 48.8 ms ] threadI've seen accounts that have been dead for hundreds of days, with pages of comments, all just whispers into the wind...
My default for anything: show me everything and give me the opportunity to filter it myself. I do the same thing for my customers in everything I build for them. This does several things:
a. It adds dimension. Whether 5% or 95% of the content is already dead, it's better to see it yourself than have someone give you that percentage.
b. It adds perspective. Actually seeing what content has become dead helps better understand the entire landscape.
c. It adds power. It's always more powerful to know what you're filtering.
d. It adds appreciation. Each tree means more after you've already seen the whole forest.
Filtering in HN has it's problems, but I don't turn off the spam filter for few false positives in email either.
The really disturbing thing is that some people don't seem to realize that they have been hellbanned for whatever reason.
From a spam perspective, it's great and I wouldn't change the current process (real people can request reinstatement, and I believe it's a fairly straightforward and fair process). But some people have been deaded, changed their ways and could add value, and as you say don't seem to have realised. I know that if I get a run of comments with no vote behaviour (up or down), I'll log off and see if I can see them, to ensure I'm still alive and haven't jumped a shark somewhere.
What is this feature? I still can't find it after looking.
Go into your profile. There is a selection that says "showdead". The options are "yes" and "no". (I have no idea if there is a karma threshold.)
I usually have it on "no" but not always. I find the site kind of depressing when it shows dead. Personal issue. Most of the time, I see no reason to Work On my Personal Issue so I do what makes me more psychologically comfortable. I also feel it improves the signal to noise ratio.
Oh well. Good luck in your ventures.