Show HN: Auto Dismiss Mac OS "Allow <app> to find devices on local networks?" (github.com)
This popup has been a constant gripe of mine for years. I almost NEVER want to allow this permission and there is no system setting to disable it globally and prevent the popup from interrupting your typing, etc. This tiny swift app I built will autoclose it in 1/4th of a second and leave behind a little notification that it did so. Would love to hear feedback!
50 comments
[ 5.6 ms ] story [ 34.5 ms ] threadIt’s weird they haven’t just made this a menu flag…
I'm sure this one probably isn't, but I have no clue how I would know whether it is without reviewing the source code myself (or pointing an agent at it etc)
Do you think a malicious repo author won't think of hiding a suitable prompt within?
Show me just one where a frontier model got prompt injected when checking if code if malicious.
FWIW I can do this, but I bet you can't.
(not saying this is ai or not, i have no idea, just speaking generally)
I know it's well intentioned but I have this weird setup where I am almost constantly keeping vnc on from my laptop to my desktop. And the mbpro randomly wakes up to do whatever, even when not used, which reactivates the vnc connection, which pops up a warning on my desktop, which steals my focus.
Anyone knows a way to disable that? Possibly just for connections from a specific other machine.
Edit: as for this app, I think the OS only asks once for a new app? I don't remember being asked a second time even when denying it.
I could also whine a bit about "this app wants to access files on a removable volume" since my desktop has a thunderbolt ssd plugged in for extra space...
You can see other people with tens of instances of the same app in the settings for this
Yes.
> And with each new update you're re-evaluate?
No. Hope that helps.
I've never had a case of this where the access was malicious, and devices on my network have security controls. For me this popup is exceptionally low value.
How do I know whether to say "Allow" or "Disallow" when it gives me no idea what either option actually means in concrete?
Which reminds me. Why does the CVS app need access to Bluetooth?
Annoyingly, Apple has no specific system API available to apps to scan for "their" specific burned-in set of wi-fi APs / BLE beacons / RFID tags to enable this (quite common) thing; so apps doing it have to ask for the much-more-general "let me play with your radios any way I like" permission.
If you have an Extracare card, in some markets, you can self-unlock the locked display cabinets with the CVS app (because they have your identity via the ExtraCare card which adds inherent trust).
It's powered by the Invue smartlock platform. https://invue.com/smart-locks
https://abc7ny.com/post/cvs-testing-new-nyc-shoppers-open-ca...
Then it started prompting users before allowing them to paste, and then the claims of privacy violations began to come in.
If instead I were able to specify what was happening in the prompt rather than iOS giving users an ambiguous statement, or even provide a detection pattern, it wouldn't have been nearly as bad.
I feel like this really harms security and privacy awareness by flooding the field with unimportant prompts/warnings to the degree that a real issue is similarly ignored because it is assumed to just be noise.
The fact that there are so many popups should mean apps are reaching for access to your system way beyond what they should be. It shouldn't mean Apple needs to get rid of the pop-ups.
Yes, I don't know why the OS isn't tracking the pop-up by bundle id or anything. It's not like I changed my mind the last dozen times…
No. They’re correct, there.
The app developer should not get to provide the message text for a prompt like that.
A secondary note somewhere in less than ten words, maybe, where it explicitly warns that the statement may be false.
OH DEAR GOD that explains so much other cursed behavior, including the "do you want to allow google chrome helper to show notifications" always reappearing. or teams. or anything that does autoupdates.
> Nothing on a typical Mac needs this permission except a printer or scanner utility, a media server, or a LAN-discovery tool, and those you answer once and they're done.
This is wrong. Browsers and media players need it because that is how multicast discovery for stuff like Chromecast works. Spotify, same thing. And Steam plus virtually all games with LAN multiplay for the same reason. Did I note already that Steam also has an autoupdater and so does Spotify and... argh.
Apple really needs to fix the very first point, preferably in a way that doesn't force app developers to ship a "helper" binary.
(Side note: it might even be the case that opening the file picker may be enough, if you got network-discoverable paths in your Finder Locations sidebar, but i'm too tired to test that one out...)
A better experience would be an async consent screen, with placeholder content and calls to action until permission is granted.
For example, a network ping scanner could show placeholder host names & status until the user clicks to allow access.
The operating system could easily stub the sensitive APIs with placeholder content and a flag indicating the content is false. So even legacy apps could work.
Adobe programs ask for this every time they start, and Claude Code randomly asks me this daily out of nowhere. It doesn't matter how many times I click "Don't Allow", it never gets remembered. (But of course if I ever mistakenly click "Allow" even once, that gets remembered for eternity and I never get asked again...)