Ask HN: Does deleting a profile from Facebook ensures that all data is deleted?

6 points by digamber_kamat ↗ HN
IF I delete my profile from Facebook or Orkut does that mean the respective companies will also delete all my data from their databases?

At least do they ensure that such data will not be used for any purpose?

16 comments

[ 2.7 ms ] story [ 44.6 ms ] thread
No and no. My guess is that it's done using a flag in their db.

user_active = 0

or perhaps more efficiantly

user_deactivated = [date]

Actually, there is a difference between deactivating and deleting your Facebook profile.

However, I still don't think Facebook removes all user data once an account is deleted. Might have to dig into the TOS to find out.

In the UK you can request the company (for a payment of costs) to provide details of all personal information they hold on you.
Google for example makes it pretty clear that, given the complexity of their backups system, they'll never be able nor try to delete your data completely. I'm guessing most companies are the same, backups are essentially read-only.
Even if a backup is done in a trivial way, you really don't want to start messing in backups as part of normal operations. A simple bug can destroy the wrong data. Without a backup, that data is lost forever. And making a backup of a backup so you can mess in the primary backup completely destroys the usefulness.
I don't mean they should mess with the backup. Only that talking about deleting the data is not very productive since the data won't ever be completely deleted. What can be talked about is data usage, confidentiality or specific "deleting" mechanisms.
This is a good point that I don't see repeated often enough. To expand, and rant a little (okay, really just rant...):

People whine about Google or Facebook's apparent inability to permanently delete data, yet simultaneously expect their data never to be lost due to bad disks, datacenter fires, or whatnot. It's all very silly. Of course FB or Google can't delete all your data, and it's that way because that's how everyone wants it.

You're talking to a bunch of idiots that even when you made privacy settings that you don't want other apps to know your name, it still shows through.

Expect nothing from these goofs.

the key thing is to not give your personally identifiable info out in the first place. have 2 profiles: one for 'namespace' discovery and 'general friends' and another for real friends and posts that contains no PII links. is there an app for that?
You have to either ask them for a complete account deletion (I've never heard of this working - although it may) OR you have to manually delete everything you've ever done. Obviously this takes awhile but it is doable. I cleaned out my account a few years ago this way.
Even if it does, whatever was public may well be cached in innumerable places all over the internet.

You pretty much have to assume that whatever you post on sites like that will be "out there" forever.

in my experience - no, unless it was on archive.org.

If you change the source page, the cached pages elsewhere will update with those changes. Thus you can make a source page blank, and the cached pages will follow.

However, if you delete a source page outright, the cached pages still might remain intact as a record: thus better to blank out first for whatever the elapsed time of the cache might be until it refreshes - then delete - just so as to be safe in case the cache keeps deleted files.

FWIW, I have tried to completely delete my Facebook account and it did not work. They have no reason to delete your data, it's valuable information that you freely gave to them.
just remove all the data from the fields:

before-

interests: "sports, hacker news, etc."

friends: 100

after-

interests: "-"

friends: 0

I did that once.. delete what you can.

I think it is not possible. Assume A & B were chatting. Facebook cannot unilaterally delete A or B's data unless both A & B decide to delete their profiles.